Lisa's space

Peace, Beauty, Light, Love.

School Holidays-Good or Evil? April 5, 2009

Filed under: Thoughts — Admin @ 1:11 pm
Tags:

Most mums I meet are dreading the approach of the school holidays. It’s a change in our routine. It’s more mess around the house, everyday, allday! The kids are looking for something to do, something to eat, something to complain about, SOMETHING TO BREAK!

But I have one friend (let’s call her Jenny) who actually looks forward to school holidays. She craves for that 2  weeks of bliss when her kids are all hers. On the last day of school term, while parents are picking up the children from school with a quiet lack of enthusiasm, Jenny has a spring in her step and a smile on her face as her 4 angels head for home.

No, Jenny’s children are not perfect. No, she doesn’t have Mary Poppins for a nanny. I think she just has a different outlook on her childrens place in her life. While some of us battle in our mind between doing a load of washing, vacuuming, catching up on some work or playing with kids, – Jenny is on the floor joicruising in the Whitsundays, 2008ning in the kids game. (With no feeling of guilt over the dirty floor).

So why are the school holidays GOOD for some of us and EVIL for others?

I suppose like everything in our lives, It’s what you make of it. How you look at it. Jenny still has her stressed moments in the day just like me,  her children push her to the edge and back again just like me, but time is fleeting …………………and I don’t want to miss a moment of my angels innocence. I just have to keep reminding myself that the cobwebs can wait until highschool (when they wouldn’t be caught dead hanging out with Mum) and keep telling myself………

“SCHOOL HOLIDAYS – GOOD”

 
 

One Response to “School Holidays-Good or Evil?”

  1. jacqui Says:

    Yep, good reminder Lisa. I will definitely take stock and try to enjoy this school holidays more.


Leave a Reply

